livingnowsc

Living Now By SC

An Addicts Perspective … Marijuana the Gateway Drug….?

on March 15, 2013

I thought it would be maybe fun and helpful for the people reading this blog, that don’t know what addiction is like to maybe have some post on perspective from a addict… It will give those who have never been down the road of addiction to see how we as addicts think. (Not all addicts really think how I think, but some might)

Okay so todays topic I am going to say what I think about Marijuana being a gateway drug, so here is what I think:
Marijuana is considered by a lot of people to be considered the gateway drug, and maybe it is, but maybe its really not, it just so happens to look that way. I have met a lot of people from the addicts world, so maybe this is why I can see this, and those who have never been down the road of addiction can’t. When I come across people and we start to talking as soon as they find out that I am a recovering addict and I am willing to tell my story, I hear either how they have had their own problems with addiction themselves in some shape or form, or I hear how they have never been down that road and they don’t know what it is like, but in the same contest they will say something like: I use to go out drinking all the time, or every once in a while I will have a drink, I tried smoking pot but… (I got sick when I smoked it, I hated the way marijuana made me feel when I smoked it, I tried it once but I really just didn’t like it, it wasn’t something that was for me.) In that same token I have known people that will smoke and shoot meth, but they refuse to smoke any pot and they can not stand even the smell of it. I have met many, many other people who smoke pot everyday and love it, and even though they may have tried other drugs they do not like them at all. You meet people addicted to drinking and even though there is another name called alcoholism for those, it is really no different at all then those who are addicted to drugs. What’s the verdict of my thinking… There is no gateway drug, there are people, and people come in from all walks of life, its not about what a addict chooses to start using, its all depends on the person, who they are, and where they came from.

What do you think?

